An topographical map of the first few Veils of the Sable Shadows

(Shadow sizes not to scale)

Sable itself, and the first three Shadow Veils beyond it comprise the Commonwealth.

The Outer Ring comprises the next three Veils of Shadow, and each of these Veils contains thirty-two worlds. The Reich Außenhandel der Reichsverband groups are situated within the Outer Ring. Outer Ring worlds generally maintain some form of connection to the Shadows further in, and to Magica Superior itself.

However, the further out you travel, the less those connections are maintained, with the exception of the Military Shadows in Veil Seven, travelling beyond Veil Ten is rarely done.

As the Sable universe is approximately in the form of a sphere, the Equator is eventually reached, and thereafter the number of Shadows per Veil begins to reduce, until the Southern Pole (Eboracum) is reached.

